Why Is Breaking Outside Your Comfort Zone Essential To Your Growth?

As cliche as it sounds, putting up and managing a business no matter the size, is never easy – much less exhausting. Especially if you were used to the comforts of monotonous tasks and employment perks and benefits, losing yourself in the hustle and bustle of building your own  little empire becomes inevitable.

I’m in the Business Processing Outsourcing (BPO) industry and had worked with established multinational companies since 2009. It was only a year ago when I joined a start-up company. The idea of being part of something new that would let me discover my full potential and pursue my passion is what appealed to me most, so I joined  a former colleague who decided to put up his own center and started working as an agent.

Like many start-ups, everything ran smoothly at first. We started our operations in Ortigas, leasing only five seats including mine, then doubled our number after a month. A business development manager from another company served as our consultant. Everything seemed to be going out as planned until our second month, when he suggested that we move in to his friend’s office in Taytay to save few of what was left from the initial funds our boss had while we were working on growing our revenue. What we thought would be a life-saver actually caused more complications which led to a temporary suspension of our operations for almost a month – payroll being included. Fortunately, my boss was able to find a way so we can go back to our previous office in Ortigas and resume our operations.

At that time, I was really pressured to look for a new job since I didn’t have that much savings left. But I did stay because something inside me was telling me that it’s going to be okay and I just have to be a little more patient. So once we got back to business, I reaped my reward and was promoted to team lead then eventually became operations manager handling thirty employees. It was indeed a big leap in my career and a bit overwhelming to be honest. I had to learn a lot of things and master new skills in as little as no time. For an introvert like me, facing a lot of new faces doing interviews, facilitating training, giving tasks to more tenured coworkers and dealing with main clients abroad can be really intimidating. But as Brian Tracy put it best, he said, “You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new.”

Indeed, I would not be in my position now had I chose to stay with a big company taking phone calls for eight hours. I may have not even think of putting up my own company if I didn’t grab the opportunity of managing a team, regardless of my limited experience in management and risks of joining a start-up. Did I get scared of my own dreams at first? Hell yes. But I didn’t let my fear get in the way of reaching my dream.

Pinterest Graphic

I’m still encountering lots of challenges in managing our business. In fact, many are wondering how do I get through them and why I stay despite the never-ending problems. I firmly believe that we’re not given challenges that we can’t handle. Moreover, if we do not fight for our dreams, who else will?

All best,

cropped-quisa-1.png

Leave a Reply

